• Black Instagram Icon
  • Black Twitter Icon
  • Black Facebook Icon
  • Black Spotify Icon
  • Black Apple Music Icon
  • Black YouTube Icon
  • Black Amazon Icon
  • Black SoundCloud Icon

"Light Me Up"

with crooked teeth





talker is the indie rock project of Los Angeles-based Celeste Tauchar – or as she calls it, “emo indie rock with glitter all over it”. The name is a nod to her last name, notorious in her family for being misspelled and mispronounced.
Starting out touring and playing for other bands including electro-pop group FRENSHIP, Tauchar quickly gained extensive performance experience at venues and festivals like Red Rocks, The Bowery Ballroom (NYC), The El Rey Theatre (LA), Lollapalooza, and Outside Lands.
After years of touring with Frenship and developing her own artistry, Tauchar began independently releasing music under the name “talker”, which received attention from such notable outlets as Alternative Press, The A.V. Club, NPR Music, Grimy Goods, Buzzbands LA, We Found New Music, and more. Her first singles charted on HypeMachine and were featured on Spotify editorial playlists, all while being independently released and promoted by talker.
After the release of her first EP “Horror Films”, talker began playing frequently across LA and beyond. Deeply rooted in the Los Angeles indie scene, talker has headlined the Hi Hat, the Bootleg Theater, the Moroccan Lounge, and others, and has performed at countless other notable venues including the Roxy and the Echo. In 2018 she toured opening for Yoke Lore, and has opened for notable artists in LA including retro rocker Hannah Wicklund & the Steppin' Stones. In January 2020, she embarked on her first co-headlining tour up the West Coast, performing at venues including San Francisco’s Neck of the Woods and the iconic Crocodile in Seattle.
talker’s second EP “Wax” was released by Common Ground Records in March 2020. Coming out just in time with a few days to spare before the California lockdown began, talker celebrated the release with a set at LA’s beloved Emo Nite at the Echoplex. The A.V. Club named the track "Suck Up" "an absolute riot—Tauchar cinches up her verses so tight that her spring into the chorus is nothing short of ecstatic."
Throughout 2020, talker kept writing and recording virtually, and in September locked herself in the studio with producer Dan Sadin to record an 8-song EP which will begin releasing in 2021. The new EP will feature collaborations with Sadin, as well as tracks with Danny Murcia of El Mañana, NYIKO, Phil Simmonds, and James Sunderland of FRENSHIP.
Ahead of releasing that record, talker collaborated with Crooked Teeth for “Light Me Up”, which released on March 5th. The upbeat pop punk track lived at #2 on KROQ Locals Only for several weeks and is currently featured on Spotify's "The Scene" and "PopRox" playlists.



Learning the feeling


Wax EP

Horror Films EP





Brittany Hughes & Catherine Yi



Jamie Coletta



Talk to ya soon!